Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World

This coming week, I will be posting about big news in my little corner of the planet, but in the meantime, I thought I would post about a movie I saw on Friday called Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World.

This movie stars Steve Carell & Keira Knightly. This movie got mixed reviews but I have to be honest, I don’t know why. I walked out of the cinema really taken by this film and would recommend anyone to see it. It was totally not what the critics put it up to be.

It is though a film about the end of the world. The premise is that the world learns, then fails to stop an asteroid from slamming into the planet and ending the species. There is a countdown and the film is about what do people do knowing there is definitely no tomorrow for anyone. It is an interesting premise and some of the things the film explores are interesting.

For a movie though about the end of the world, this is a very upbeat movie. It is essentially a love story between the two stars. A fascinating love story because in many ways they are total opposites. This movie will make you laugh, cry, and think and then think some more. I found only two plot holes in the movie. Big ones toward the end but you are so wrapped up in the story by that point, I really doubt most people will  notice them. Make no mistake, the two stars carry this movie. They have great on-screen chemistry and in film, that goes a long way.

If you are looking for a movie that doesn’t involve a super-hero, then I would recommend this. It is definitely worth the price of admission.  

Categories: art, Entertainment, Everyday Life, writing | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

