A Song & A Passing Thought

I can never remember anyone’s birthday. It is a simple fact of my life. I don’t know why it is but maybe it is because I don’t even make a deal out of mine really. In the score of the universe birthdays are like a blip. I once even forgot my mom’s – a fact she didn’t let me forget between then and her next birthday.

Speaking of my mom, she had a tradition of always having a dinner. She’d either fix it or more likely ask which restaurant you wanted to go too. One year, I had something going on and was like lets not do that and I think I actually hurt her feelings. For her birthdays were a huge occasion. I actually have a photo from her on her last birthday, a friend made her a special angel food cake because that was all she was supposed to have although I think at some point we turned a blind eye as she sampled something chocolate.

Oddly, I can remember a lot of those birthday dinners or the couple years my dad let me cut school so we could go do something. One year, I almost hit a hole-in-one on the golf course. As Maxwell Smart would say, “Missed it by that much!”.

It is a gorgeous day out and I should be concentrating on work but honestly, I’m having a bit of trouble doing that. So instead, a link to a little song from  a famous entertainer, out of the Vaudeville Class, and the lyrics seems appropriate. Hope you are enjoying this beautiful day wherever you are.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wCsJzFK7_as

Categories: Entertainment, Everyday Life, writing | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

