RENDEZVOUS

Today is Remembrance Day marking the end of World War I. It was a horrible war – even in WWII you weren’t having 100,000 people killed in an hour – and the consequences of the Great War lead the world straight into WWII. It also changed those who witnessed it and the cultural world. T.S. Eliot or Hemingway or two prime examples of the work born from that experience.

The Great War also had plenty of poetry of its own. Many of the poets didn’t survive the war including the American Alan Seeger – a classmate of T.S. Eliot – who while fighting for the French Foreign Legion was killed on July 4th, 1916. He wrote my favorite WWI poem called Rendezvous so in honor of the day I will post it here:

Rendezvous

I have a rendezvous with Death 

At some disputed barricade,      

I have a rendezvous with Death      

At some disputed barricade,      

When Spring comes back with rustling shade      

And apple-blossoms fill the air –      

I have a rendezvous with Death      

When Spring brings back blue days and fair.

It may be he shall take my hand      

And lead me into his dark land      

And close my eyes and quench my breath –      

It may be I shall pass him still.      

I have a rendezvous with Death      

On some scarred slope of battered hill,      

When Spring comes round again this year      

And the first meadow-flowers appear.

God knows ’twere better to be deep      

Pillowed in silk and scented down,      

Where love throbs out in blissful sleep,      

Pulse nigh to pulse, and breath to breath,      

Where hushed awakenings are dear…      

But I’ve a rendezvous with Death      

At midnight in some flaming town,      

When Spring trips north again this year,      

And I to my pledged word am true,      

I shall not fail that rendezvous.

Categories: art, books, Entertainment, Everyday Life, history, writing | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “RENDEZVOUS

  1. Thanks for the great post. Dulce et Decorum Est is my favourite poem from the Great War.

    • Jett

      Yeah, that is a great one as well. Owens, Sassoon, some good poetry came out of that period and of course Eliot’s ‘Wasteland’ after the war changed poetry. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

