On The Road With Bobby McGee

Janis Joplin

“Busted flat in Baton Rouge …. feeling near as faded as my jeans … freedom just another word for nothing left to lose and it ain’t nothing if it ain’t free …” If there is a song to sum up my week it is probably Me And Bobby McGee written by Kris Kristofferson and made really famous by Janis Joplin. In a week that saw two radiators bite the dust (2 different vehicles) and one dead battery (a third vehicle), a water leak, and a scorching sun to bake our brains, and some PTB intervention that stunned us all – yeah, this is a solid pick as the week’s theme song.

I will confess, I like Janis – loved her stage performances -but when I normally think of her I think of Chelsea Hotel by Leonard Cohen which is a confessional song about him and Joplin and a great tune of its own. I also think of Joss Stone who if you ever start to watch the facial features, the bare feet on stage, the hand movements, the voice inflections … well, I have always sworn that Stone is Janis Joplin reincarnated. I saw Stone do a couple Joplin covers once and it was stunning. That’s okay, I like Stone and Joplin deserved a second go-around. She left way too soon. 

Well, I can’t embed the Youtube video here but I can put a LINK. Its probably been far too long since you heard this song anyway. Me and my persona of Bobby McGee will see you down the highway somewhere – or in line at the garage.

Categories: Entertainment, Everyday Life, music, travel, writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

